First Announcement

The 30th Johns Hopkins Workshop will be organized in the context of the GGI Workshop "New Directions beyond the Standard Model in Field and String Theory",. May 2-June 30, 2006 and it will be held in Arcetri, Florence, on the premises of the new Galileo Galilei Institute (GGI) for Theoretical Physics, funded by INFN and sponsored by INFN and University of Florence. The GGI is located on the hill of Arcetri, near the house where Galileo spent periods of his life and died in 1642. The Conference will be focused about possible extensions of the Standard Model offering an explanation for the origin of the electroweak scale and its connection with other scales in particle physics. A special emphasis will be given to the topics discussed within the running GGI workshop. The Conference Program consists of invited talks and the number of participants will be limited to about eighty invited people.

A preliminary list of invited speakers is

- Ignatios Antoniadis, CERN
- Ralph Blumenhagen, Munich, Max Planck Institute
- Wilfried Buchmuller, DESY
- Csaba Csaki, Cornell University
- Savas Dimopoulos, *Stanford University*
- Gia Dvali, New York University
- Ferruccio Feruglio, Padua University
- Gregory Gabadadze, New York University
- Gian Giudice, CERN
- Shamit Kachru, *Stanford University*
- David Kaplan, Johns Hopkins University
- Elias Kiritsis, Ecole Polytechnique and University of Crete
- Igor Klebanov, *Princeton University*
- Markus Luty, University of Maryland
- Yasunori Nomura, University of California, Berkeley
- Mariano Quiros, IFAE/ICREA, University of Barcelona, Bellaterra
- Riccardo Rattazzi, CERN
- Angel Uranga, *CERN*

This list will be periodically updated in the website of the Conference (http://www.fi.infn.it/GGI/activities/JohnsHopkinsWorkshop.htm). Information on the application procedure are on the Conference website (http://www.fi.infn.it/GGI/activities/JohnsHopkinsWorkshop.htm) A registration fee of 100 Euro should be paid at the time of the conference. The deadline for registration is February, 28 2006.

Organizing Committee:

C. Angelantonj (Turin U.), L. Brink (Goteborg, ITP), R. Casalbuoni (Florence U.), G. Domokos (Johns Hopkins U.,Baltimore), E. Dudas (Ecole Polytechnique, CPHT & Orsay, LPT), T. Gherghetta (Minnesota U.), A. Pomarol (Barcelona, IFAE), A. Hebecker (Heidelberg U.), Z. Horváth ((Eotvos U.,Budapest), S. Kövesi-Domokos (Johns Hopkins U.,Baltimore), L. Lusanna (Florence, INFN), R. Marnelius (Goteborg, ITP), O. Nachtmann (Heidelberg U.) and A. Patkós (Budapest,Eotvos U.).

Local Organizing Committee:

R. Casalbuoni (Florence U.), S. De Curtis (Florence, INFN), D. Dominici (Florence U.) and D. Seminara (Florence U.)