Event at Galileo Galilei Institute


Resurgence and Modularity in QFT and String Theory

May 06, 2024 - May 10, 2024

Apply (deadline: Mar 01, 2024 )
Note: you are applying after the deadline

Modularity is a particularly powerful symmetry with many applications in theoretical physics and mathematics, in particular quantum field theory and string theory. Resurgence is a general framework for advanced asymptotics which effectively unifies perturbative and non-perturbative physics via an intricate network of algebraic relations known as Ecalle’s bridge equations. Modularity and resurgence overlap strongly in the goal of exploring non-perturbative completions of perturbative data, leading to profound new insights into the connection between weak coupling and strong coupling, and in the study of dualities, black holes and quantum gravity. The goal of this GGI Workshop is to bring together experts from these two frontier areas in theoretical and mathematical physics to foster further interaction between different scientific communities and to develop novel strategies to address truly significant problems.

Daniele Dorigoni (Durham University) daniele.dorigoni@durham.ac.uk
Gerald Dunne (University of Connecticut) gerald.dunne@uconn.edu
Michael Green (DAMTP, Cambridge) mbg15@cam.ac.uk
Luca Griguolo (University of Parma) luca.griguolo@unipr.it
Sarah Harrison (Northeastern University) s.harrison@northeastern.edu
Yasuyuki Hatsuda (Rikkyo University, Japan) yhatsuda@rikkyo.ac.jp
Axel Kleinschmidt (Albert Einstein Institute, Potsdam) axel.kleinschmidt@aei.mpg.de
Sameer Murthy (King’s College London) sameer.murthy@kcl.ac.uk
Anne Taormina (Durham University) anne.taormina@durham.ac.uk

Local organizer
Li Gan (GGI)


Main event
Resurgence and Modularity in QFT and String Theory (Workshop) - Apr 08, 2024

Confirmed Speakers:

- Abhiram Kidambi (Leipzig & Vienna)
- Campbell Wheeler (Bonn)
- Congkao Wen (QMUL)
- Elba Garcia-Falide (Jussieu)
- Gregory Korchemsky (IPhT Saclay)
- Ioana Coman (IPMU)
- Kim Klinger-Logan (Kansas State)
- Marialuisa Frau (Torino University)
- Nathan Benjamin (Caltech)
- Ovidiu Costin (Ohio State)
- Sergei Gukov (Caltech & DIAS Dublin)
- Shai Chester (Imperial College)
- Sungjay Lee (KIAS)
- Veronica Fantini (IHES)