Logo

Event at Galileo Galilei Institute


Workshop

Axions across boundaries between Particle Physics, Astrophysics, Cosmology and forefront Detection Technologies

Apr 26, 2023 - Jun 09, 2023

Apply (deadline: Dec 02, 2022 )


Abstract
The purpose of this workshop is to bring together scientists with different backgrounds and expertise to discuss open problems, recent developments and future directions in axion physics, a field that is notoriously replete with interdisciplinary connections. The aim is to foster a fruitful cross breeding between different theoretical areas, with a focus on certain open issues in axion particle physics, astrophysics and cosmology. Quantitative assessments of the axion contribution to Cold Dark Matter (CDM) involve top-notch lattice simulations of non- perturbative QCD effects, as well as of the cosmic evolution of axionic topological defects. Astrophysical observations provide strong bounds on axion properties because stellar evolution would be affected by the existence of axions and, intriguingly, some excesses in star energy losses have been reported. Cosmological scenarios in which the PQ symmetry is broken before inflation foresee axions imprints in the CMB, while in post-inflationary scenarios axion miniclusters, with overdensities several orders of magnitude larger than the local density of CDM, are expected to form, and a reliable assessment of their properties is of utmost importance. From the experimental side, a blossoming of potentially game-changing ideas, with an exciting crossover from experimental particle physics to materials science and cutting-edge technologies is inspiring new methods for axion searches. Novel techniques have been put forth that, besides exploiting the axion- photon coupling, aim to reveal axions via their couplings to nucleons and electrons. The interaction between the experimental and theoretical communities will foster the merging of `how to search’ with `where to search’ into optimized strategies to hunt for the axion.

Topics
* Training week (1st week: April 26(*) - 28)
* Axion astrophysics (2nd & 3rd weeks: May 2(*) - 12)
* Axion cosmology (3rd & 4th weeks: May 8 -19)
* Axions in particle physics (4th & 5th weeks: May 15 - 26)
* Axion experiments (5th & 6th weeks: May 22 - June 1(*))
* Conference week (7th week: June 5 - 9)

(*) Note that April 25th, May 1st and June 2nd are days of holidays in Italy


Organizers
Gianpaolo Carosi (LLNL, carosi2@llnl.gov)
Kiwoon Choi (IBS, Daejeon, CTPU, kchoi@ibs.re.kr)
Luca Di Luzio (University of Padua and INFN - Padua, luca.diluzio@unipd.it)
Babette Döbrich (CERN, babette.dobrich@cern.ch)
Inma Domínguez (University of Granada, inma@ugr.es)
Maurizio Giannotti (Barry University, MGiannotti@barry.edu)
Igor Garcia Irastorza (University of Zaragoza, igor.irastorza@cern.ch)
Enrico Nardi (INFN - LNF, enrico.nardi@lnf.infn.it)
Andreas Ringwald (DESY, andreas.ringwald@desy.de)
Pierre Sikivie (University of Florida, sikivie@phys.ufl.edu)
Julia Vogel (LLNL & University of Zaragoza, Julia.Vogel@cern.ch)


Local organizer
Enrico Nardi (INFN - LNF)

Contact
enrico.nardi@lnf.infn.it

Related events
Axions across boundaries between Particle Physics, Astrophysics, Cosmology and forefront Detection Technologies (Training Week) - Apr 26, 2023

Axions across boundaries between Particle Physics, Astrophysics, Cosmology and forefront Detection Technologies (Conference) - Jun 05, 2023